Sunday, April 23, 2006

only one month left until i go back to cali for summer...classes here are over in a few weeks. it's amazing how time flies--truly unbelievable.

i'm now officially back in action: i played in my first soccer game in 6 weeks. it was so great to be out there again, even if it was with a brace and ace bandage on my hand. i was happy with my performance, and i think i even whacked a guy in the cheek with my bad hand. oops!

Last weekend was full of firsts: my first trip out to the lake for a bbq; my first time going to mt.bonnell (the spot in austin for great views); my first green mesquite experience (a great bbq place); and, my first time to spiderhouse (a local coffeeshop/bar). And that was just Friday and Saturday. on Sunday, I had friends over for an easter brunch. Well, we were all jewish, so we made matzah brie, one of my favorite Passover foods. Everyone has their own way to make it…my family always made it in patty form. Other people like it in big pieces, scrambled. After my friends left, it was afternoon movie time…I watched brokeback mountain. I guess that was a first, for many reasons. First, I didn’t fall asleep (strange, since I always fall asleep during movies) and second, I hadn’t seen brokeback yet. I liked it, though I didn’t really understand what made it SO popular with the critics.

passover ended thursday. i broke passover with a good sandwich from "which wich," a new place that opened right by the ut campus. its a pretty cool concept for a sandwich shop...check it out: http://www.whichwich.com/. seriously, you'll be impressed. i pretty much kept passover, minus corn syrup and alcohol. close enough, right? it was meaningful for me, and that's what counts (in reform judaism, at least). i helped out with seder for hillel both nights--the first night at hillel and the second night at the sammy fraternity house (my big, fat greek seder). they were very successful—there were almost 399 people at Hillel for the first night. Wow.

This weekend has been so nice, too. Friday night I went to dinner with friends and then to the UT fashion show. It’s a huge deal here…all the fashion design students show off their collections at the frank Erwin center. There were over 5,000 people there, or something ridiculous like that. it was very impressive. Saturday started with a run at the lake. Then, I drove off to San Antonio to visit the cousins and the new baby. Well, I got sucked into watching “nick lachey: what’s left of me” on mtv. Ya, it’s lame. But I got hooked! Agi and roger scored some tickets to the spurs game on Saturday, so I got to tag along. Although we got there a bit late, we still got to catch some of the game, and it was a lot of fun. We picked up some bbq from rudy’s on the way home and had a good dinner. Later we watched pride and prejudice…but, needless to say, I didn’t last long. J I drove back to austin Sunday morning and then went to my aforementioned soccer game. Tonight I went to dinner at Fuddruckers with a few friends. Yumm.

And that brings me to right now. I’m currently watching “america’s next food network star,” one of my favorite shows right now. It’s the last episode, so it’s pretty exciting, and pretty sad to see it go. Okay, it’s not that sad.

No comments: