Thursday, February 02, 2006

shoot. it's been over a month. my goal is to update my blog at least once a month and i definitely missed that one. oh well...now i'm doing it, and that's what's important right?
major things have happened since last year--the last time i wrote. this is going to be a long one, so i understand if you can't make it all the way to the end. but if you do, there will be a special surprise.

let's back up about 4 weeks. the holiday: new years. the setting: beautiful san diego. i was home for the weekend just to visit and spend some qt with my family and my friends that are still in sd. little did i know, those would be my last days in the unger chateau (as derek calls it).

my parents sold the house and are now living downtown in an awesome apartment overlooking the bay. i haven't been there yet, but they say the views are amazing. but i digress.

so, back to it. i spent the long new years weekend at home and around san diego. it was quite relaxing and generally fun. no exciting new years stories. i stayed home with the fam. man were we crazy. i think we forgot to even open the champagne. hehe. but we did make it all the way until midnight. (go mom--she usually goes to sleep at ~9pm)

before i knew it i was back in austin and kali (my little little sis in my sorority) came to visit. we had such a great weekend...trip to san antonio, all the sights of austin, a night out downtown and lots of good catching up.

let us not forget the all-important birthday celebration. this was a 3 day party, basically. i went out 3 nights in a row (quite an accomplishment for me) and had so much fun doing it. gotta go crazy for the big 2-3. anyway, the details aren't important. the best part of it all was definitely the phone calls, bday cards and packages i received, so thank you. i felt oh-so loved and it was wonderful.

i also started playing in an adult coed soccer league. good times and fun people. my team has some wierd name. i dont remember it though. they all think im really good. i think i pretty much suck, but i guess everything is relative...

then it was back to work hardcore. spring semester started, and there was lots to get done. it was so great to have the students back...the life of hillel had been sucked out for a month and it was finally back!

here are some of the events i put on (with the help of students, of course) in the past few weeks...
  • JiGLO (Jews in Greek Life Org) Bar Tab downtown
  • RAW FYSH - sushi making for freshmen
  • Premiere Party - the BIG kickoff event for the new building.
the premiere party was the highlight. it was basically all i worked on for about 2 weeks and boy was it worth it. it was a classy frat party. the turnout was fantastic (600 students--400 was my goal)--there was a line down the block to get in to hillel. wow. that never happens! the free alcolhol was definitely a highlight, as was the dj. but i think the winning feature of the event was the chocolate fountain. its going to become the new hillel fixture. yuuum! oh, and another highlight--the future texas QB (not vince young) was here...check it out.

since then i have just been trying to work less. it sounds strange, but there is so much i want to be doing here to make hillel even better. we've almost solidified a "cool" image on campus and i want to make that even stronger.

in other very important news...i will be staying on for a second year of the fellowship. sooo, that means i will be in austin for many more months. sooo, that means you can come visiti! make your plans now and book your room at Hotel de Julia.

Miss you all so much, but loving life in the ATX (Austin, TX)
:-)

oh you may be wondering what the special surprise is. i'm still workin on that. get back to me...

No comments: